The Journey Begins

I was introduced to grief unexpectedly on February 13th, 1990 in a nondescript room of a local hospital that had a sign on the door that  read, “Quiet Room.”

Within five minutes of being ushered into that room, two more titles were added to my list of roles – wife, daughter, sister, friend, mother, R.N., volunteer.  I was now a widow and single parent.

There was nothing quiet about my journey through grief except for God’s voice whispering, “I am with you always” – even though I couldn’t hear it!

This blog is not only about my story but it is a way to share things I learn as I listen to, accompany and facilitate support for many others going through “the valley of dark places.”

May you find this to be a resource for HELP – HEALING  and HOPE.

This entry was posted in My story. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Journey Begins

  1. suzjones says:

    Hi
    I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award 🙂 There are no obligation to accept it.

    It’s Awards Time Once More – Part 1

    • Greet Grief says:

      Suzanne, I am so honored by you including my blog in your favorite 15 and for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. Unfortunately, I am just beginning this journey and feel like my novice skills are overwhelmed by this, or maybe it is the time of year that throws me. But again I thank you – your nomination came on my birthday and it was truly a gift! Thank you

      • suzjones says:

        I’m glad it brightened your day. Happy birthday 🙂 🙂

      • Greet Grief says:

        Well, Suzanne, I had second thoughts and decided to take on the challenge. I was so honored, how could I not?! The only problem, I can’t figure out how to embed the image, I’ve even read a blog on how to do it – I told you technologically challenged!!

  2. memgal306 says:

    O yea I know quite well of the infamous “quiet room.” I think for me it was the single box of Kleenex that gave away the purpose of that room. It soon became a circus of relatives and friends. An grief is different for everyone.

    • Greet Grief says:

      I am sorry that you know about that room as well – I always wanted to believe that no one else had taken that journey though the valley of darkness, even though I know millions have! Yes, the Kleenex, the nondescript furniture and pictures on the wall, the lack of windows. If those walls could talk they would be anything but quiet!

Leave a comment